Scrawl from The Saw’s Butcher Shop: Dimmu Borgir Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (2022) RE-RELEASE

Welcome to The Saw’s Butcher Shop! Ya Girl, The Saw, is stopping in to check your restraints, and to let you know that Dimmu Borgir has remixed, re-mastered, and re-released a mid-career album. Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia originally dropped in 2001 via Nuclear Blast. On October 28, 2022, to celebrate 20 years of the album, Dimmu Borgir has released a brand-new version of the album (Nuclear Blast). Yes, this is a completely different sounding record from the original, and I love it!

Dimmu Borgir is a Symphonic Black Metal band from Jessheim, Norway, that formed in 1993. The name means, “Dark Fortresses,” and is named after a volcanic region of Iceland. Their earlier albums had different line-ups, with members playing different instruments (and performing vocals), and all lyrics were in their native language. When their fifth studio album, Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia was originally released, the band consisted of:

  • Founding Member, Shagrath – lead vocals, keyboards
  • Founding Member, Silenoz – rhythm guitar
  • ICS Vortex (Lamented Souls, Borknagar) – bass, backing vocals
  • Galder (Old Man’s Child) – lead guitar
  • Nicholas Barker (Cradle of Filth) – drums

As Dimmu Borgir has pushed through the decades, the band has really pushed the envelope of the Black Metal genre. They have always been of the Symphonic sort, but they have pushed that outward to include a full, live orchestra. Another characteristic that developed over the years was the use of clean vocals. This stretching of the genre has caused controversy, of which the band simply enjoys the attention and presses onward. Your hardline Black Metal fans dislike Dimmu Borgir, as a rule and, likewise, prefer the original 2001 release of Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (if they like any at all). But Ya Girl really likes this remixed and re-mastered version of the album.

For me, the sound of an album or band is very important. Modern technology has really improved the production and sound quality (even live) for all of these bands. I know that my preference flies in the face of original Black Metal – anti-everything! – but a good, solid sound is what I like. And the newest version of Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia is a world away from the original mix, in every way.

Dimmu Borgir line-up on the 2022 re-release:

  • Shagrath – lead vocals
  • Silenoz – rhythm guitars
  • Galder – lead guitars
  • Daray – Drums (2008 – present)
  • Gerlioz – keyboards, synthesizer (2010 – present)
  • Victor Brandt – bass (2018 – present)

Pick any song on this album and it’s beautifully mixed and mastered. Every song is great! Dimmu Borgir are brilliant for their expression of Extreme Metal. The 2022 re-release adds an excellent cover of “Burn in Hell” (Twisted Sister). And the classic, “Devil’s Path” has also been added to the record. It also features a new album cover, signifying the focus of the directional force of Dimmu Borgir.

BTW, Dimmu Borgir are working on a new album, and you know it will continue to push the genre and the scene to evolve with the sound!

Rating: 9/10! A great re-release! An excellent specimen in Symphonic Black Metal!

Favorite Songs: Hybrid Stigmata, Architecture of a Genocidal Nation, Puritania, Sympozium

Stay Metal,