Scrawl from The Saw’s Butcher Shop: Remember… You Must Die — Suicide Silence (2023) ALBUM REVIEW

Welcome to The Saw’s Butcher Shop! Your Master Butcher, The Saw, has two words for you: Suicide Silence. They are one of the OGs of Deathcore. They’ve won multiple awards for their uncompromising, punishing style of Metal, and they’re one of the few bands that have suffered a devastating loss of a major member, only to fully recover – in many ways, in a bigger and better way. That recovery can be heard in their new album, Remember… You Must Die (Century Media), released on March 10, 2023.

A Personal History

Ya Girl clearly remembers her introduction to Suicide Silence. The band formed in 2002, in Riverside, CA. But it wasn’t until 2007 at the release of, The Cleansing, the band’s debut album, that they entered my life. My brothers were playing this album all day, everyday! I was eight years old, and loved it! My parents (the O.G. and Buzz Saw) really liked this new form of Metal, and we’d all jam to it in the living room, blasting it through the Bose speakers.

It wasn’t long after that I got to see Suicide Silence. My cousin’s band – Seventh Denial – won a local Battle of the Bands contest, earning an opening slot for Suicide Silence when they came to Fayetteville, NC. I remember that Mitch Lucker (RIP) was a great front-man, and it was fun to watch him perform. I’m telling you: I didn’t know it then but, watching this show, The Saw was forming within me.

I also remember hearing the news that, on November 1, 2012, Mitch Lucker was killed in a motorcycle accident. It was devastating to hear. He (and Suicide Silence) had such an impact on me. When the band announced, in 2013, that they hired vocalist Hernan “Eddie” Hermida (All Shall Perish), that news was also tough to take. He had huge shoes to fill, and (for me) it took a long time for me to accept this change – this moving on for Suicide Silence. And (IMO) it took a few albums, not for Eddie to “Fill Mitch’s shoes,” but for him to forge his own path as the vocalist for this historic band.

In 2017, I met Eddie after a Suicide Silence show, and he was great! It was very helpful for me to meet Eddie (and the rest of the band). I was able to move on, too, as a fan, and accept Suicide Silence again – not as that band from my childhood, but as an incredible band that firmly waves the banner for straight-up deathcore. And the new album… What. A. Beating!

Recovery at the Top

Remember…You Must Die is a complete and utter ass-whoopin’! Every. Single. Track… is a crushing lesson in massive slam riffs, beefy hooks, breath-taking time changes, and weighty vocal content. Eddie’s vocals are awesome – deep register gutterals and ear-piercing screams! Everything on this album is well (if not perfectly) timed and brilliantly written. I cannot say enough about the riffs, either supporting the songs, or coming front-and-center as the main hook. This album is heavy! Suicide Silence has certainly assumed their (former) position at the top of the deathcore scene!

The singles from Remember… You Must Die – Capable of Violence (N.F.W.) and Alter of Self are devastating tracks. Both are anthems for deathcore, with memorable vocal content and chunky riffs. A deep dive into the rest of album reveals a no-nonsense, unrelenting assault on the senses! Any of these songs could be leading tracks for the album. You’ve got to listen to “Full Void!” It has a different feel from the other tracks, and is the album closer. The build-up to the killer riff is amazing!

This is really a great record! Suicide Silence has a distinct expression – a succinct sound – that is unmatched, and unchallenged. Remember… You Must Die strikes a great balance between Death and Core!

Rating: 10/10!! Incredible slam-riffs; near perfect composition and execution! And Eddie kills it!

Favorite Songs: The singles, Fucked for Life, Dying Life, Full Void


  • The Cleansing – Century Media (2007)
  • No Time to Bleed – Century Media (2009)
  • The Black Crown – Century Media (2011)
  • You Can’t Stop Me – Century Media (2014)
  • Suicide Silence – Nuclear Blast (2017)
  • Become the Hunter – Nuclear Blast (2020)
  • RememberYou Must Die – Century Media (2023)

Suicide Silence:

  • Chris Garza – founding rhythm guitarist (2002 – present)
  • Mark Heylmun – lead guitarist (2005 – present)
  • Dan Kenny – bassist (2008 – present)
  • Hernan “Eddie” Hermida – lead vocalist (2013 – present)
  • Ernie Iniguez – drums (2022 – present)

Stay Metal,